Trust me....

A place to discuss Food TV and radio programmes.

Trust me....

Postby Hope » February 16th, 2018, 2:46 pm

This week's episode, about the spinach, beetroot etc nitrates - does it have to be raw? Did they tell us doseage?
Hope
Registered

Re: Trust me....

Postby earthmaiden » February 16th, 2018, 3:23 pm

Sorry to be dim, the only programme called Trust Me I can find is a drama .. could you elaborate?

I hope they're not saying we can't have raw spinach or beetroot - I prefer both raw.
earthmaiden
Registered

Postby Hope » February 16th, 2018, 5:06 pm

No, it's "trust me I'm a doctor".

DIdn't explain well because of fatigue. They said nitrates (nitrites?) in spinach and beetroot help brain function, but I'm not sure if it has to be eaten raw (as they did in the programme). Or how much you need. Brain function not very good right now!
Hope
Registered

Postby Suelle » February 16th, 2018, 5:18 pm

They only tested salad leaves and beetroot juice, against a salad containing no nitrates:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/article ... n-and-body
Suelle
Global Moderator

Postby Hope » February 16th, 2018, 5:28 pm

I was wondering if nitrates were still present in cooked spinach and beetroot. (I can't eat them raw)
Hope
Registered

Postby StokeySue » February 16th, 2018, 6:16 pm

I would guess (definitely nitrate not nitrate) ther would stiil be a fair bit in cooked veg as I can't see where it would go unless you boiled it and discarded the water

But they didn't say

Is it just me finds them increasingly superficial? Are they perhaps running out of topics on which they have in-depyh information and just skimming the headlines? I've found this series quite irritating, starting with the very 'lite' feature on Raynaud's disease
Sue
StokeySue
Registered

Postby TeresaFoodie » February 16th, 2018, 6:23 pm